Aggressive And Experienced DUI Defense
The state of Colorado does not take driving under the influence (DUI) charges lightly, and neither do we. At LFM Defense, we understand the far-reaching effects a DUI can have on your life. We are ready to do everything we can to minimize those effects for you.
Our team of attorneys has over 45 years of combined legal experience, much of that spent in courtrooms throughout the state, fighting every level of criminal charges. Not all criminal defense attorneys readily take a case to trial. They will attempt to negotiate a plea bargain whenever possible and have actually tried very few cases. But at LFM Defense, we relish the chance to fight for our clients in court. In addition, our team environment gives every client the benefit of the insight and talent of every team member as we prepare each case.
Understanding Colorado DUI Charges
Colorado defines DUI as driving while impaired by alcohol or by one or more drugs. Having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or more is considered proof of a per se DUI offense. Penalties can include:
- First offense – Minimum jail time from five days up to one year. The judge has the discretion to suspend the jail time if the offender agrees to an alcohol or drug treatment assessment. A fine ranging from $600 to $1,000, which the judge can suspend. Between 48 and 96 hours of public service, which the judge cannot suspend. License suspension of nine months, but may shorten with interlock restrictions.
- Second offense – Minimum jail time of 10 days up to one year, which the judge may suspend in lieu of sentencing alternatives. A fine ranging from $600 to $1,500, at the court’s discretion. Between 48 and 120 hours of public service. Possible probation up to two years, depending on other sentencing and programs. License suspension of one year. Interlock restricted license for two years.
- Third offense – Minimum jail time of 60 days up to one year, which the judge may not suspend. A fine ranging from $600 to $1,500 at the court’s discretion. Between 48 and 120 hours of public service. Possible probation up to two years, depending on other sentencing and programs. License suspension of two years. Interlock restricted license for at least two years.
After a third offense, any further related offense becomes a class four felony. Aggravating factors can increase the penalties at any level.
Even if your BAC test came back over the legal limit, do not assume your situation is hopeless. You do have defense strategies available to you, and we will fight for your rights.
You Can Count On Us
We know the stakes are high for you and your family. For us, your case is not just about the legal win. It is also about protecting your future so you can move past this matter and get on with your life. Our results speak for themselves, but what they don’t show is the care and compassion we have for our clients. We will be with you every step of the way, fighting for your rights and your future.
Get A Strong Legal Ally In Your Corner
You do not have to face your DUI charges alone. Our lawyers are ready to help you. Schedule your free initial consultation today to find out how. You can call our Greenwood Village office at 720-961-6518 or send us an email today.